The Playbook Team

Playbook goals and activities for the Sarasota County region were identified through facilitated in-depth discussions by local experts and practitioners and further developed through research, data analysis, and expert interviews.

Steering Committee

Jon Thaxton (Chair) – Gulf Coast Community Foundation
Mark Alderson – Sarasota Bay Estuary Program
Lee Hayes Byron, MA – UF/IFAS Extension Sarasota County
Stevie Freeman-Montes, MA – City of Sarasota
Sandy Gilbert – Solutions to Avoid Red Tide
Jennifer Hecker – Coastal & Heartland National Estuary Partnership
Christine Johnson, MBA – Conservation Foundation of the Gulf Coast
Alan Jones – Jones Potato Farm and Argus Foundation
John Ryan – Sarasota County Stormwater Environmental Utility
Darcy Young, MA – Sarasota Bay Estuary Program

Facilitation, Research, Writing

Jennifer Shafer, PhD – Shafer Consulting
David Shafer, PhD – Shafer Consulting
Stephen Suau, PE – Progressive Water Resources


Nanette O’Hara – O’Hara Communications

Graphic Art and Web Design

Shafer Consulting
Bazany Design